Hey Y’all!

Hey everyone,

I hope you’re all doing well!:)

Highlights of this week:

-Exchanges with the Hermanas! I went to their area, so I had to call upon the year of Spanish I took in high school and the gift of tongues. Hermana Welch was a trooper with basically teaching everything on her own, but I did get to pray and testify en espanol:D It was super fun and I loved the people! Favorite part of the day was when the 14-year-old recent convert we were teaching told me he wished I was in the Spanish ward:) ❤

-Training for the mission 5K! Sister Mitchell is making me run every morning, and it hasn’t killed me yet so that’s a good sign.

-Finding people! The Lord is definitely directing his work because we were guided to some really amazing people this week who are prepared to hear His gospel. And it strengthened my testimony of diligence and hard work. Two of the people we found came from trying once again to contact a referral that we’d already tried a hundred times. We were finally able to catch her at home, she and her friend loved the message, and we have a return appointment! And the other people came from just opening our mouths and talking to everyone, even if it was kind of awkward:)

-Teaching my favorite 80-year-old investigator! He is the sweetest thing, and he knows he needs to get baptized. If he didn’t, he wouldn’t have come to church every week for the past year and a half. He just needs to recognize he knows it’s the right thing to do! We have a lesson with him tonight, and we’re going to focus on receiving answers from the Spirit and how we can tell when those answers have come.

One of my favorite chapters in Preach My Gospel is chapter 4: “How Do I Recognize and Understand the Spirit?” If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it! There’s a quote in there that I really love–

“In answer to the question, ‘How do we recognize the promptings of the Spirit?’ President Gordon B. Hinckley read Moroni 7:13, 16–17 and then said: ‘That’s the test, when all is said and done. Does it persuade one to do good, to rise, to stand tall, to do the right thing, to be kind, to be generous? Then it is of the Spirit of God. …

‘If it invites to do good, it is of God. If it inviteth to do evil, it is of the devil. … And if you are doing the right thing and if you are living the right way, you will know in your heart what the Spirit is saying to you.

‘You recognize the promptings of the Spirit by the fruits of the Spirit—that which enlighteneth, that which buildeth up, that which is positive and affirmative and uplifting and leads us to better thoughts and better words and better deeds is of the Spirit of God’ (Teachings of Gordon B. Hinckley, 260–61).”

Isn’t that beautiful? Recognizing the Spirit is something I always wanted to be better at. But the answer is right here from President Hinckley:)

God is truly our Father, and He wants each of us to know how to follow His plan for us. When we ask Him in faith, He will answer us and guide us to the things that will bring us closer to our Savior. Because through our Savior, we can someday return home:)

I love you all! Remember that Heavenly Father loves you!:)

Love,

Sister Stratford

Leave a Reply

