A Beautiful Week :)

P1020140Hey everyone,

I hope you guys had a wonderful Easter! I know I have grown closer to my Savior and more grateful for His Atonement.

This week was beautiful:) Definitely hard parts, but lots of moments of joy as well:)

A couple of weeks ago, we had dinner with some members whose address didn’t show up in our GPS. So we figured out the general area where we thought they lived, clicked randomly and had the GPS take us there. We left early so we could have time to find the house. When we got there, we realized we were at the exact address! Since we had a few minutes before we had to go in, we knocked on one of their neighbor’s doors and he answered, and we set up an appointment to come back! There ended up being some complications with meeting because he went out of town, but then last Monday we tried by again. This time his wife answered, and she said we could P1020127come back the next night! And so the next night, they were both home and ready for us, and they received the message of the Restoration, and it turns out the husband is very less active and the wife is interested in learning more! They are awesome and we’re so excited to continue to teach them:)

Tuesday was beautiful, sunny and warm. Wednesday we got BURIED in snow. Denver hasn’t had a blizzard like this in years and years. It snowed all day, and we ended up getting about 20 inches. It was crazy!!!! Sister Smithson and I decided not to attempt walking a few miles to our ward, so we just shoveled some snow around the apartment complex and tried to make snow angels. Then we came inside and read the Bible Dictionary, made tortillas, worked out to some Richard Simmons, just normal stuff:D Honestly we got super bored and were so excited to go out and work the next morning!

The rest of the week has been gorgeous and the snow is melting super quick. I really don’t understand Colorado weather. You don’t even know how many times the people here have quoted to me: “Don’t like this weather? Wait 15 minutes.” SO TRUE.

P1020164Oh my goodness Saturday was amazing!!! One of the people I taught in Strasburg, Robyn, got baptized with her daughter!! I didn’t really know that daughter, but I taught her other daughter and I have faith that with the example of her mom and sister, she’ll come into the waters soon enough:) Sister Smithson and I drove all the way out there for the event (and used all our miles–we may be walking the rest of the month), and it was one of the most spiritual baptisms I’ve ever been to. Robyn was just beaming the entire time!

Haha when Sister Smithson and I walked into the building, I got a flying tackle hug from Sister Sherwood, and then she told me I was playing the piano and accompanying a musical number:D And my trainer Sister Kastner was there too!! P1020165We gave the baptism talk together:) The Spirit was just so strong the entire time, and my testimony of the gospel of Jesus Christ was strengthened. I know that baptism is truly the gate to the path that leads to eternal life. When we are baptized, our sins are washed away, and we promise to follow Jesus Christ for the rest of our lives. Through priesthood authority, we are given the gift of the Holy Ghost, who helps us and strengthens us along the way. I saw the joy that comes from these truths in the shining faces of Robyn and her daughter. I think that is the happiest I’ve even seen either of them. One of my absolutely most favorite things about being a missionary is seeing the miracle of changing hearts:)

P1020162
Strasburg!

And then Easter came and it was just too much goodness! Church was so amazing. Sister Smithson and I went up and sang with the ward choir, so that was fun:) And in relief society we talked about the Atonement and everyone was crying and it was wonderful:) Then after church, we felt like we should visit an elderly woman in the ward who lives alone and is too sick to go to church anymore. We went over and had a really nice discussion about the Atonement with her, and she was super appreciative that we had gone by. She loves music (she was in the Mormon Tabernacle Choir when she was 19!), so we sang “I Stand All Amazed” and she mouthed the words along with us. It was a really tender experience. I love her so much! Her faith in Christ is beautiful to see.

P1020161
Also Strasburg!

I am so grateful for Jesus Christ. I’ve been thinking about the Atonement in relation to Ether 12:27 in the Book of Mormon. Through Christ’s Atonement, our weaknesses can become strengths. I’m so glad for that! Whenever I feel like I’m just not good enough, like I’m making the same mistakes over and over, I find hope through Christ. He’s the one who picks us up and dusts us off when we fall. He’s the reason that we can learn from our mistakes and try again. Through Him, we can be a little better each day. I love my Savior:)

P1020129

 

I hope all of you have a wonderful week!

Love,
Sister Stratford:)

Leave a Reply

