Hallelujah

Hey y’all,

Happy pi day!!!!:D

It was a great week! Sister Smithson’s sister is getting married, so had to send her a package. We asked a member how to press flowers and she looked it up for us. After much trial and error, we came up with some real good ones. We carefully packed them up, along with some other gifts, and it was the cutest package I’ve ever had the privilege of sending.

We’re teaching this woman who is having a lot of health problems, so this week we taught her about the Plan of Salvation and how it can help her find peace and strength. It was an amazing lesson, and at the end of it we asked her if she would be baptized and she said yes! I love teaching her because now she has a real purpose in having us over– she wants to be ready to be baptized:)

We sing at a nursing home with our zone each week, and every time there is this little old woman named Joy who says, “Do you know the first song I learned when I was a little girl? It’s called ‘Jesus Loves Me'” and proceeds to sing it for us. It’s not an LDS primary song, but lots of other Christian kids learn it at church. Since Sister Wick was a convert, she knew it and taught it to me. It goes like this:

Jesus loves me, this I know,
For the Bible tells me so.
Little ones to Him belong,
They are weak but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
Yes, Jesus loves me,
The Bible tells me so.

Basically, it’s super cute and primary kids should sing it. The week before, we told Joy we would sing it for her this week. I had time to teach it to Sister Smithson, but not anyone else in our zone, so we didn’t know how we were going to sing it. But then one of the ladies who works at the nursing home pulled it up on the internet, music and lyrics and everything. So we all sang along, and all the elderly people sang along, and it was fantastic. Joy loved it:D We should sing it every week!

We had a meeting on Friday with the other missionaries and it was great! We talked about the principles of gospel leadership and how it won’t end after our missions. As we learn to lead and teach here on our missions, we’re preparing for the rest of our lives.

So as missionaries we go to bed by 10:30, right? Well Saturday night at 10:30 the zone leaders texted us that we had to go to a 6:30am meeting the next morning. I think we threw the phone. We were already losing an hour with the time change, so we were not happy campers. To rebel, we didn’t change our alarm, so we woke up at 6am, threw on skirts and only got to the meeting one minute late.

Easter is coming up quick this year! There are some cute ideas on lds.org for keeping Christ at the center of it:

7 Family-Friendly Ways For Centering Easter on Christ

Yesterday, the church’s new Easter video came out! It’s called “Hallelujah” and it is BEAUTIFUL:

Go to followhim.mormon.org. The other videos and information on the website are really cool too:) We started sharing this video with people yesterday and it’s been really great! I love the Easter season because the whole world is just filled with praise to the Lord. He’s done more for us than we can even imagine. It makes me think of the lyrics to “I Stand All Amazed”:

I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me,
Confused at the grace that so fully He proffers me.
I tremble to know that for me He was crucified,
That for me, a sinner, He suffered, He bled and died.

Oh, it is wonderful that He should care for me enough to die for me!
Oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me.

I can’t express the depth of my gratitude for my Savior. He lived for us and He died for us. And He lives again. Through Him, we can find peace in this life and eternal salvation in the life to come. Hallelujah!

Love,
Sister Stratford

Leave a Reply

