Steve Got Baptized!

P1020063
Meet Steve and Fonda ๐Ÿ™‚ They’re awesome!!

Hey everyone,

On Saturday, our investigator Steve got baptized!! It was a really amazing day and everyone felt the Spirit:) He has grown so much through this process and was really ready to make these covenants with Heavenly Father:) And I loved seeing his wife smiling so big the entire time! She’s been waiting for this day. It’s been a wonderful journey for them to come closer to Christ together:)

We had exchanges earlier in the week, and the sister I was with gave a dinner message where she lit a teabag on fire and talked about the fears that keep us from doing missionary work. I remember some missionaries giving us that dinner message years ago, but they almost burnt Joshua’s hand off. Anyway the members that we did it with told everyone at church about it, so now everyone wants us to come do it for them. So I’m going to learn it and try not to burn anyone:D Maybe I should practice first with some members who I know like us and won’t try to sue us or anything.

Oh at the nursing home this week, I was bawling out bingo numbers again, and I heard one of the elderly ladies tell her friend, “This one is really good– you can really hear her! With some of those gals you can hardly tell what they’re saying!” I had never in my life received a compliment of this nature. It brings a tear to my eye just to think about it. ๐Ÿ˜€

Miracle time!!! A couple weeks ago, Sister Wick and I really felt like we needed to remember we were still missionaries on p-day. It’s easy to forget when you’re going around washing your car and buying groceries and such. So that morning, we made a goal to give someone aย mormon.org pass-along card. As the day progressed, we’d had no success. We were at the grocery store and felt like buying bagels for a snack, which we don’t normally do. So we bought everything and went out to our car, and then we decided to come back in to eat our bagels at these little tables in the store. So we went back in and sat down, and a lady at another table complimented Sister Wick’s skirt. So we started talking to her, and she was super nice and we just kept talking to her and she told us her family was working on painting a house and we offered to help and then she gave us her card and we were like, “oh yeah, we have a card too!” and gave it to her! And then we figured out which missionaries’ area she lived in, and we told those elders about her, and they scheduled a time to help her paint. THEN the day before they were supposed to go over, they were tracting her street without realizing it and the second door they knocked was her, and they talked for about an hour, and then the next day we just made it a party with the elders and us and another set of sisters helping paint, and their family was so grateful, and they said the elders can come teach them anytime they want! Yay!! I love when it’s so clear how the Lord is directing His work. I know He leads us to those whom He has prepared:)

In my Book of Mormon study, I’m reading about the sons of Mosiah. I want to be like them! They are pretty much the best missionaries ever. They started out so wicked, but once they let Christ into their hearts and repented, their only desire was to share their joy with others! I love Mosiah 28:3-4, “Now they were desirous that salvation should be declared to every creature, for they could not bear that any human soul should perish; yea, even the very thoughts that any soul should endure endless torment did cause them to quake and tremble. And thus did the Spirit of the Lord work upon them, for they were the very vilest of sinners. And the Lord saw fit in his infinite mercy to spare them.”

I love how miraculous the change in them was. I’ve seen a lot of miracles on my mission, but the biggest one of all is the miracle of conversion. And that one is available to all of us:) When we seek Christ, the Holy Ghost is able to change our hearts and help us become the people we want to be. It’s a lifelong process, but it’s completely worth it. It’s been amazing to see this process in Steve and others, and the person I’ve seen it the most in is me:)

I love you all!!

Love,
Sister Stratford

Leave a Reply

