Sickness and Snow and Such

P1020032Hey everyone,

It’s been an interesting week! On Monday we had a huge snowstorm, so for a few days after that we were shoveling snow a LOT. We shoveled for some members, but we also just went and asked random people if we could shovel their driveways and it was a really cool experience! I’m getting pretty darn good at this snow thing if I do say so myself.

Tuesday was fun because there was too much snow and the mission parked our cars. So we set out on foot! We live about five miles out of our area, so it was a long walk. Fortunately (or Providentially!) we were able to catch a bus for part of the way, and then later some members from a different stake were driving by and offered us a ride! Haha there still ended up being a lot of tromping through snow, but it made things a lot easier. Sister Wick and I also taught each other children’s songs, me from primary and her from the church she grew up in. I taught her “To Think About Jesus” and “Two Little Hands” and she taught me “Jesus Loves Me” and “Jesus Loves the Little Children.” So we just tromped along and sang and it was awesome:)

P1020044
Strasburg was too much for my little California boots as you can see. 🙂 I had to get new ones.

Wednesday we got to go to the temple!! Yay!! I love the temple and the perspective it brings. Heavenly Father loves each one of us so much:)

Also on Wednesday, Sister Wick and I led roleplays in district meeting. It was fun! They were about working with members. All of you should go call the missionaries and ask if you can go teach with them!

On Friday we were in a big missionary meeting when Sister Wick grabbed my shoulder and stood up. I looked over at her, and her expression was pretty funny. She ran out of the meeting to go throw up in the bathroom. So yeah, for the next couple of days I sat in our apartment and read the scriptures and watched church movies and drew pictures while she slept. She’s feeling a lot better now:)

P1020041
Hagar and Ishmael

And then yesterday we weren’t allowed to knock doors because people were watching the Broncos and would probably murder us, so we sat inside and did weekly planning. (If the fireworks that were going off all night are any indication, the Broncos probably won:D) Basically I’m pretty well done with sitting inside and am all ready to get out and work hard! Hopefully I don’t get sick! *knock on wood*

On Saturday we did get to teach Steve, our investigator who is getting ready to be baptized. It was a really good lesson! We talked about tithing and fasting, and the Spirit was really strong. Steve’s wife is a member, and it’s been amazing to see both of them getting excited about the gospel. They have so much real intent, and they love living everything we teach them! Every time I teach them, my testimony of the gospel and how it works in our lives to bring us joy is strengthened. I love them!

P1020038
President and Sister Mendenhall

Every morning in our companion study, we recite Our Purpose, which is to “invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.”

This is the gospel of Jesus Christ. Faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. That’s what we learn in the Book of Mormon. Each part is so critical to live by. Everything else branches off of these things. Recently I’ve been going through and reading the Book of Mormon, highlighting everything that talks about these five basic parts of the gospel. It’s really shown me that the gospel is everything! It’s the reason we’re here on earth and the way we get back to our Heavenly Father.

DSC09949
Here is Sister Wick sporting her Bronco Pride! The picture is from today (2/8). I wore orange yesterday though! 🙂

I’m so grateful to have the gospel in my life and to be able to share it with others:) How does the gospel work in your life?

I hope all of you have a great week! I love you all!:)

Love,
Sister Stratford

Leave a Reply

