A Spoonful of Service

P1020027
Haven’t seen any donkeys lately, but last pday we got to hold puppies at the pet store!

Hey everyone,

I’ve been in Thornton for a week and a half now! I’m starting to get to know the people, and I really love them:) It’s weird to be in two wards because sometimes I forget who belongs where, but I’m slowly learning! Also it’s hard to balance two wards because this week we accidentally pretty much only worked in one of the ward boundaries, so we basically did nothing in the other ward. Oops! We’re setting individual goals for each ward this week to try to prevent that!

In this area we do a lot of service. Tuesdays we play bingo with people in the old folks’ home and then we paint their nails. It’s pretty fun:) Sometimes the old ladies get mad at each other and it’s kinda funny. Sister Wick said sometimes they even try to steal stuff from the prize cart, so we have to keep a watchful eye on them. There’s this woman named Faye who is one of my favorites. She always tells us that she loves us:) She’s so sweet! Also while we clean up we get to see them do yoga, which is interesting for the elderly!

Thursdays we go back to the nursing home, this time with our zone, and we sing hymns and traditional songs for them. (Co-op prepared me well!) They really love having us and it’s a really sweet experience, especially when the residents can sing along:)

We also try to look for unplanned opportunities to serve. This morning, we shoveled a lady’s driveway. In skirts. Haha sister missionaries are tough little things.

On Wednesday we were able to teach a man who doesn’t pray, so we taught him to! That’s one of my favorite things to do– teaching someone to pray for the first time. His prayer was so simple and sincere. “I’m seeking for You, and I hope You’re seeking for me too.” It was a beautiful experience:)

P1020028
Doesn’t it kinda look like Strasburg out there?

Saturday was beautiful and sunny and we bought lemonade from some kids while we were out tracting. Then we had a picnic. By that night it was snowing. ???

Once again I’ve run out of time. My goodness!! Anyway, I love you all and hope you have a great week for of opportunities to serve!

Love,
Sister Stratford

Leave a Reply

