Post Thanksgiving!!

Every other week we go to the senior center and pop popcorn for the residents:) It's so fun!!
Every other week we go to the senior center and pop popcorn for the residents:) It’s so fun!!

Hi everyone!

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday! I love this time of year when everyone focuses on the blessings of life:) We truly have so much to be grateful for!

We celebrated Thanksgiving with four families (2 for dinner and 2 for dessert!). Haha Sister Kastner and I had to make sure we didn’t stuff ourselves because there was a ton of food at both dinners:D It was so good!! It was fun to spend the day taking it easy and getting to know these member families better.

I learned a valuable lesson about our purpose this week! The missionary purpose is in Preach My Gospel, and it’s this: “Our purpose is to invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.” We’ve been teaching a woman (I’ll call her T) for a while now, and until this week she did not understand our purpose. I think she thought we just kept going over to talk to her about Jesus. She definitely didn’t know we were there to baptize her and bring her into the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Soo that was not good on our part. But we realized our glaring mistake and planned out how we were going to re-explain the priesthood and invite her to be baptized by someone with that authority (her previous baptism in a different church means a lot to her). So we approached the lesson with a little trepidation, but we just opened our mouths and the Spirit took over! It was beautiful. We invited her to be baptized, and she promised to pray about it.

DSCN2099It turns out she WAS confused because she goes to a Baptist church and she didn’t think we went to the same church. So remembering the Joseph Smith story, she had already been praying about which church she should be a part of!! So despite the fact that we were kinda (okay definitely) bad missionaries, the Spirit helped her do the things we should have been teaching her. Isn’t that amazing?? I need to hold up my end better, but I’m glad Heavenly Father didn’t let her suffer because of it!

And after that lesson, she came to church for the first time! And here’s another miracle for you: I love singing hymns in sacrament meeting. Yesterday in church, the opening hymn was awesome, the sacrament hymn was spiritual, the rest hymn got me all pumped up… and then the closing hymn was “Choose the Right,” which is a great song, but I felt like it didn’t match the topics for the meeting at all. But after the prayer I turned to T and asked her what she thought, and she said, “You know, it’s funny. I’ve been praying about what church to join. I want to be sure to make the right choice. And then I come here and we sing Choose the Right. Maybe that’s God telling me that this is the church I should join.” And I was like, “Yeah! Yeah it is!” So God works in mysterious ways and definitely do not try to judge them!!

And throughout the rest of church T was really involved and making comments and telling everybody about how Sister Kastner and I had changed her life and it was just AMAZING and very humbling. I love missionary work!!!

Well have a wonderful week!!:) Oh and watch the Christmas video on christmas.mormon.org!

Love,
Sister Stratford

Leave a Reply

